Major Trend Reversal

Forgive me if this post is misplaced, I have been scanning the forums looking for the appropriate location to post.

I am fairly new to all this, so I’m just thinking out loud.

I have identified what I think a break in structure in USDCHF, possibly leading to a downtrend.
I’m looking at the 1hr chart and the uptrend since the start of July.
Does anybody think that might be the case, or think to the contrary?
What might you be looking for to confirm and persuade you to short the market?
Many thanks.

Personally, I would wait till it gets a bit below the 50 session MA on the 4hrly chart before shorting. At the moment I would say this pair is still in an upward trend and you might find it hits that 50 session MA and rockets back up.

Please note, I always temper my predictions on forums by saying there is a 49% chance I’m wrong!!! I don’t want anyone losing any money😉

1 Like

Sorry, just seen you were referencing the 1hrly chart. So, I’d wait till it gets a bit below the 200 session MA on that chart. Set a wide stop to allow for high volatility at this level cos everyones going to get interested when it hits that level.You don’t want to get stopped out on an ultimately correct prediction. If you get stopped out even with a very genorous stop then I’d switch and go long.

But personally i’d prob go long when it hits that level. Trends do reverse, of course, but I’m lousy at spotting this so I just follow trend until I start losing money.

Thanks for your comments Blue,
I see your points. The fact it’s still making higher highs and higher lows and therefore still in an uptrend.
I too like to stick with the trend. I’ve been following this pair on the uptrend and it’s been a nice steady ride, now I’m seeing that structure change and got all excited when I thought I might be noticing the start of a reversal. I’ll be keeping my beady eye on it, but won’t give up on buying this pair just yet!:eyes: