Margin Question

Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to Forex and I hope that someone here can help me with some questions related to the concept of margin and leverage.

Basically what I would like to do is create an account with 100£ in balance and with a corresponding pip value of 0.10£ (1£ every 10 pip). Now, if I got it correctly that means trading micro lot (0.01 - 1000£) with a 1:10 leverage, isn’t it? However that will also means that when opening a trade I will also need to use all of my balance as a margin, right? Supposing I am not mistaken is that something possible/allowed? Otherwise, how can I make sure that 10 pip will always correspond to 1% of my initial balance and trade accordingly?

Thank you for your help and Regards,

Antonio11

Basically what I would like to do is create an account with 100£ in balance and with a corresponding pip value of 0.10£ (1£ every 10 pip). Now, if I got it correctly that means trading micro lot (0.01 - 1000£) with a 1:10 leverage, isn’t it?

Yes. Sounds right.

However that will also means that when opening a trade I will also need to use all of my balance as a margin, right? Supposing I am not mistaken is that something possible/allowed?

You may use all your balance to open a single trade (1:10 lev) but you will be getting a margin call soon or later due to depletion of the maintenance margin. IE: The position would be liquidated if at any time the trade is floating at a loss.

Otherwise, how can I make sure that 10 pip will always correspond to 1% of my initial balance and trade accordingly?
You can do this by [B]adjusting the leverage[/B]. For example at 1:100, you need a margin of £10 to get a pip value of 0.10 (or 1% for every 10 pips).
Hope this helps.

Don’t confuse the [B]maximum allowable leverage[/B] which your broker offers you, with the [B]actual leverage[/B] which you choose to use.