Maybe it's just about the day of the week - a beginner's experience

I’ve been trading for a couple of months now, borrowing ideas for trading systems from various forums, and had some good successful runs where I would increase the demo account balance by 50% in one day.

Then it would all go wrong and I would lose that profit the following day. I’m using quite a high leverage and lot size, in order to stress-test my ideas, so these bigger profits and losses would be expected.

Today being a Friday I’ve come to expect that trading would be more difficult, and sure enough all of my trusty trading systems broke down and I lost a quarter of the demo account balance today.

Monday this week was also very challenging, but then Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday were a breeze, with nice predictable trends on most of the major pairs.

Every week it seems to be the same pattern: Monday is bad, Tuesday is good, Wednesday is great, Thursday is good, and Friday is bad.

On the three good days you can clearly see the trends underway, and the retracements are also quite obvious on M5 charts, so you can enter the trend at the right time.

The only issue is when to exit the trend and close your position, so I use a range of indicators (EMAs, Bollinger, Fibonacci) which together give a good picture of trends breaking down or reversing.

On the two bad days the trends only last for a short time, and break down more sporadically, and even the periods of ranging are very chaotic.

Have other people here found the same pattern, between trading success and the day of the week, somewhat regardless of the trading system being used?

1 Like

I have limited time on day-trading so far (spent years on longer-term stuff but dabbling with so-called scalping now) but have to agree, Mondays and Fridays are marginal, the main business for us will be the mid-week days.

But today was NFPR - wish I’d stayed out.

2 Likes