Mentors for Beginners

Hi guys,

I recently started learning Forex as it is closely intertwined with my degree (Economics) and I’m attempting to further my knowledge of currency trading and also the wider macro economy, in unison. The primary reason is not to earn buckloads of cash ASAP, but to develop the skills required to work in a high pressure industry such as options or the futures market.

I am inquisitive to know how successful traders managed to find mentors and teachers who have helped in honing their skills and offloading personal insights into markets?

It’s no difference than university. You have good and bad mentors and teachers. Just like in university you tend to identify more with ones that are more like your personality. Just like in university, just because you don’t identify with a professor, doesn’t mean their no good, mostly means you don’t get what they’re teaching the same as you do, with one who more fits your personality. My opinion anyway.

Short term gains are not the same as long term success. I found again my opinion, that you need 3 things to have long term success in forex.

You need a very strong understanding of the foreign exchange market and how it works. Your degree should cover you there.

The next thing is a basic understanding of trading in the foreign exchange. These 2 are different and most traders don’t understand that,. You can get this basic trading knowledge by simply going through the baby pips school on this site. When done you should be able to apply what you’ve learned in with your degree and how to apply s to everyday trading.