Meta Trader 5 Expert Advisor coding

Hi,
I am just wondering if anyone here writes EAs on meta trader 5. Coding has become a bit of a hobby for me, I am a long way off actually using one live though with real money :joy:. I started coding on meta trader 4 and have now transitioned to 5 but I have for some reason been finding it harder.
I opened a Pepperstone account to trade on and I have been using a book called Expert Advisor Programming for Meta Trater 5 by Andrew Young to help me learn. Unfortunately I am finding some of his coding, mainly buying and selling code, does not work as it errors when filling a trade on my Pepperstone account.
Generally though I would start a post about writing EAs if anyone is interested or can help me with the above.
Thanks

1 Like

Start a post anyway if only for your own self assurance. Marking your own homework is a good start. If others are interested, you can hope they will mark it as well, so you get the independent reviews at no cost to your time. Go for it.

2 Likes

What is the error you are receiving? Walk me through what you’re doing, step by step, so we can sort this out together.

1 Like

Firstly, I’d change to cTrader, coding is much better on there although I find it hard to find what I want in their documentation sometimes.

Are you using the trade class or the more clunky version that doesn’t need to include the trade class? You have to specify the trade type, fill or kill etc in the latter. You can look at the market details for each symbol and see what you need to specify.

2 Likes

Hi Emi,
I get a filling error when I run the code. If you have time I could send you my code if you could have a quick look at it?
Thanks
Tristan

Hi Chester,