Money Management Math Question

Hello,

If I may ask, I would love anyone to please go through this simple math with me, so I understand how to do it.

Lets say, I have a mini account with $2,000. So, a lot size is $10,000. I have a 100:1 margin… ok, got that so far.

If I do the math for lets say USD/JPY at an exchange rate of 119.90 (like on the site)
(.01 / 119.80) x $10,000 = $.83 per pip… ok got that

So, if I buy 1 lot of USD/JPY… my usuable margin would be $1,980 ?? Is this correct? (ASSUMING margin requirement is 1%)

If I buy .1 lot, does that mean (.01 / 119.80) x $1,000?? = .083??

Does that also descrease my margin requirement to $1.00 ?? This can’t be right.

What am I obviously missing here?

Thanks in advance!
Jeff.

ok, since you said anyone, I will jump in here… i am fairly new to this too. Still trying to understand this margin and leverage stuff but this is my understanding

first the leverage in your example would be 5:1 (if 2000 is capital and you opened a mini account). You referred to it as margin but margin is generally stated in percentages (percentage of the type of the account. So 1% margin account on a mini account would require $100, 2% would require 200, etc.)

If I do the math for lets say USD/JPY at an exchange rate of 119.90 (like on the site)
(.01 / 119.80) x $10,000 = $.83 per pip… ok got that

So, if I buy 1 lot of USD/JPY… my usuable margin would be $1,980 ?? Is this correct? (ASSUMING margin requirement is 1%)

Your usable margin would be your starting capital of 2000 (going by your above example) less the used margin which is $100 (unless you used more capital thereby lowering your leverage and risk-but on this 1% mini account example you must use at least $100 per lot). This equals 1900 usable margin (2000-100). Not too sure where you got the 1980 from…unless i am missing something

If I buy .1 lot, does that mean (.01 / 119.80) x $1,000?? = .083??