More profits than losses, but overall I'm busting my accounts

I’ve been trading for 2 years now, I go at proper strategy and a good trading plan, I think. I’ve been consistent but somehow I’m still busting my accounts, like I would make 4 or 5 profitable trades, but then 1 loss wipes out half my profits, so overall I end up busting my accounts. I put my stop loss and take profit all the time, but somehow my losses end up being bigger then my profits.

I feel I’m lacking the risk management part. I’m using the risk reward ratio of 1:2 and 1:3 but still my losses are bigger than my profits.

Any Advice Please

1 Like

Sounds like you are closing trades to bank the profits too early. If you cannot resist the impulse to take profits early, you could try trading with smaller positions to reduce anxiety over potentially seeing profits disappear before you can exit.

3 Likes

same point i have also . it sounds you are closing trades to bank the profit too early.

2 Likes

Close losing trades early, do not nurse them in the hope they would reverse back in your favour. This is critical, as although I hate losing, I hate losing big, more so. There’s always another trade awaiting.

And do not overtrade or revenge trade in an attempt to get your money back. Patience and discipline instead.

2 Likes

I agree with previous posts. If your losses are much bigger than your wins it shows that you hate losing. I am similar - I know we all hate losing but some traders can be mentally disciplined and write this into their strategy. I don’t have that discipline so my strategy imvolves beey frequent small wins (I trade 20-100 times per day) and the occasional huge loss when I am sure that on taking that loss I’ll still be in profit.