Mtb_rex Trade Journal - a focus on everything!

Hey BP community. I’m a newbie who’s just started on this journey of trading. I’ll use this space to discuss my trade ideas and I welcome any and all feedback. I normally demo trade EURUSD, but as that pair was been a bit boring, I’ll look to broaden my horizons. Off we go!

1 Like

Hi @mtb_rex
Wishing you success with your journey. If i can think of anything sensible to contribute along the way then i will chip in - can’t promise that it will be anything useful though! :grin:

Excellent! Thanks for the well wishes. I’m sure you’ll be able to share some knowledge on things GBP and EUR-related. Looking forward to it!

I was trying to find a trade on EURUSD, as I’ve mainly been following that for a few weeks, and placing some winning (and losing) trades. But I didn’t see anything I had confidence with, so I figured, why not check out some of the other majors. I started with GBPUSD. Given Brexit, and what could or couldn’t happen this week, perhaps that was a bad one to start with.

I did draw up a chart, but I was getting mixed signals.

Price was below the 200 and 50 MA, bouncing around in a symmetrical triangle, lower highs and higher lows, but over down. Perhaps there’s a trade here if I waited another day, which I might still do.

The hourly was also showing some indecision, which wasn’t helping me. Again, maybe more a situation where I just need to be patient.

So I’ll keep an eye on this over the next day or two and see where the action takes me.

On to USDCAD, something I don’t follow at all. But I took a look at the chart anyway to see if anything jumped out. And what did I find? A descending channel, with price right at the downward trendline, just asking for a trade.

Here’s the wide look.

And a bit tighter view