Multiple accounts, why do people have them?

I’m new to forex

I’m trying to understand why people say that they blew up multiple accounts. Why would someone need multiple accounts?

Also another question would my losses ever exceed my balance and would I ever owe anything to my broker in the event of a catastrophic loss?

1 Like

Yes, its a bit puzzling.

Handy if -

you want to have opposing long and short positions on the same instrument, which US etc. brokers are not permitted to offer - not sure thus should be really important for many traders (any traders?)

you can’t access your main account and you don’t want to miss the chance to open/close a position - though I hope the days of platforms crashing and engaged phone lines and internet crashes and modem failures are mostly over.

EU-regulated brokers now must offer negative equity protection - EU clients can never owe them more than their deposited funds.

1 Like

@tommor I never thought about using multiple accounts for going long on one and short on the other on the same pair. That’s interesting.

@TraderRobert From a newbie perspective, when people say they’ve blown up multiple accounts its because they lost their initial deposit and had to fund their account again. Every time the account loses all the funds that’s considered blowing up the account and you have to add more money and if you lose all the money again, that’s another account blown up. Not necessarily opening up new accounts but having to continuously add money after losing initial deposit.

1 Like

I have 2 account,
1 from rakuten ; fast withdraw because support my local bank, better cost at some pair(in London hour)
1 from IC market ; has better cost XAUUSD 17 pips from IC VS 30 pips from rakuten

They open it, they blow it up. Then they open a new one which is relatively easy and they do this because when they show performance statistics for this new account to anyone it wouldn’t reflect that massive loss of the blown up account(s). Get it?