Multiple Time Frame Analysis Help

Hello all, first post here! I’m a few months in to trading, recently finished up The School of Pipsology. I an working on my first trading system, I am using the Moving Average Crossover system that is based on a 10 and 5 SMA, RSI and Stochastic indicators. When I was reading the rules for this system, I never saw any indication on how many time frames to use. I read in the school that using 3 time frames is a great idea before entering a trade. My current system is based on a 1 day chart as I am a swing trader. Would you recommend I use a 4 hour and 1 hour chart as well or just stick to the 1 day chart? Thank you and happy trading.

1 Like

Looking up is for confirmation
Looking down is for clarification

1 Like

Hi Joephoto

You should do your analysis on the timeframe (tf) you are trading in.

Use a higher tf to get your bias to either go long or short and a lower tf for better entry.

As for which tf to trade in, that depends on your lifestyle and how much time are you willing to commit to be looking at charts.

I trade daily tf as well. Closer to end of month like this week, it’s good to take a look at monthly charts for some bias to either go long or short. I don’t usually go down to H1 or H4 for entry. But that’s because I prefer entering at market. At times where a stop or limit order is needed, I’ll take a quick look. In the end, it’s about how much time you can afford in front of the charts.

2 Likes

Hello and welcome!