Multiple timeframe analysis

Hello guys. I am a newbie trader and this idea of multiple timeframe analysis has been somewhat difficult for me. I find it suits my strategy more if I trade in the 1hr timeframe only. Is it wrong or should I incorporate other timeframes like the 15min or the 4hr.

I think its confusing to trade 3 or more time-frames. The usual technique is to select your preferred trading time-frame according to your strategy and personal capabilities, then add a higher time-frame to check that your trade does not clash with any significant TA - for example going against the long-term trend, or buying just below resistance, or buying just before a bearish reversal pattern finishes setting up.

Its important to make sure that if you enter on the TA from a short time-frame, your stop-loss is also based on that time-frame.

2 Likes

Don’t knock yourself,it’s all to do with getting use to chart reading.
Start with Daily as your “base” time frame .then the rest is choice really either way of Daily.When I first started I used 5 minutes mainly for closure but I prefere 10 mins these days .

1 Like

Thanks for the reply

As a computer programmer, I want to make a suggestion that is probably way out in left field a bit too much for most of you…

Technically, the Euro USD does not know what a 30 minute chart is and it does not know what a 1-hour chart is and it does not know what a 15 minute chart is.

The Euro USD only knows what the price is right now.

Enjoy.

Fair point ,take it or leave it

What the price is right now is because of order flow. Which can be accessed by referring to lower TFs and then gauging the effect - if any - on higher T/Fs.

I don’t know which platform you’re trading on, and I have only ever traded on metatrader, so I don’t know any other platforms just FYI.