My Goal is to Reach 50 Pips a Day

Hi babypips community,

I have been playing around in my demo account and I have a question. Is it wise to risk the same amount of PIPs as your TP? I risked 35 pips and set my target for 35 pips on a 30 mins chart. I actually gained the PIPs (YAY), but I could have lost the same amount of PIPs.

I only ask because when I set my stop loss at 20 pips I kept getting kicked out of the trade. My goal is to gain 50 pips a day so grow my account slowly. That is how I’d like to grow my live account as well.

BTW I’m brand new to babypips. I just signed up yesterday.

LOL…
WE KNOW MATE… :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

@MiiMee
have you tried setting a take profit of 5 pips per trade and doing 10 trades a day
or
10 pips per trade and 5 trades a day instead of 1 trade of 50 pips

1 Like

@MiiMee

Hi mate welcome to the community. I would ask what type of trading you are doing and on what pairs, it’s difficult to say otherwise. 1:1 R:R @ 35 pips is not a problem if your win rate is above 50% and you have edge.

I would personally prefer to take a fixed risk on each trade (say 1-2% of balance) but adjust your TP and SL for each trade, according to the dynamics of the market at that time on that pair.

It’s more difficult to set a profit target based on a fixed number of pips movement because it is very arbitrary (and doesn’t take current volatility into account), unless you are using a stats arb quantitative technique or something similar, although I understand why you would want to set the trades into a binary choice like that.

I would ask - what do you currently use for position sizing. To work out the lot size you need to risk a certain amount based on your SL.

1 Like

Okay, with a 10 pip TP, I would have to have a max of 5 pip ST. is that right?

I’m brand new to trading so I am not trading 1:1. My win rate is not very high. My demo account is a little over $3000.

Symbol: USDCAD
Time frame: 30M
Trade type: Buy Stop
Trade size: 0.01