My Noob Mistakes. Dont Make These Mistakes

I traded a demo account for a few months. Experienced some success so decided to throw away $500 into a real account.

I have to say, trading a demo account is NOTHING like trading a real account until you learn to separate your emotions from trading.

Here are a few things I have learned from my mistakes. By no means am I an expert, I am a noob just like you guys. I started a few months ago and am currently in the negative compared to when I started. But I am making profitable trades and when I make all my money back I will finally be a profitable trader.

[ul]
[li]Not setting stops and limits. There were countless times that I was up 50 pips and felt that since I was watching the charts actively, i didn’t need stops and limits. Boy was I wrong. A 50+ pip position would turn into a 150- position for me. The importance of S/L when you are actively watching charts is not to catch your trades before they lose or locking in profits. The importance is that it provides you with targets to stick by, removes the emotion out of your trade, and forces you to adhere to a risk management technique.
[/li][li]Dont trade only one timeframe. When i first started, I thought I had a solid technique and would see it in one timeframe and trade it on the spot. WRONG! You can see a setup in one timeframe, but expand out into a broader timeframe and notice your trade might go against a greater trend or movement. Make sure your entries hold consistent over different time frames or at least make sense on different time frames
[/li][li]Dont be greedy. Just as you manage your risk, you have to manage your profit. If your goal is 50 pips, take your 50 pips and move on. Don’t sit around saying “I think it might go to 60 pips” if you have no solid proof. Rule of thumb, don’t hold on to a trade hoping for it to move if you wouldn’t open a trade at that moment with the same outlook of movement.
[/li][/ul]

14 Likes