Need reliable source for Tick Data for testing EA using MT4 Strategy Tester

I’m new to Forex and normally trade stocks. I’ve spent the last year learning Forex, the MT4 platform, etc. and having a robot built. I’ve got a Forex.com demo account and am about to test my robot, but I’m not sure if their tick data is going to be reliable. The robot developer told me that he uses Birt’s tick data from eareview.com. I got a trial membership from them and the modeling quality on the strategy tester in MT4 showed as 99%. That was great, but for comparison I ran a backtest using Metaquotes tick data straight from the MT4 platform, and it gave me N/A as the modeling quality. Does anyone have a suggestion about whether to trust the tick data coming straight out of the MT4 platform or should I now pay the $99/year for data from eareview.com? Thanks for your help. I’m trying to find a reliable source for tick data for backtesting.

1 Like

@stressed1, how is this strategy tester measuring the modeling quality of tick data? Did you already try running this backtest on your MT4 demo account with FOREX.com? If so, what were the results?

Since you’re looking for a reliable source for tick data, it’s worth noting that as of the latest financial data from the CFTC, which regulates retail forex in the US, FOREX.com has an over 50% share of the market in terms of client deposits.

Thanks for replying. When I use Strategy Tester with the data from Birt’s (dukascopy data) with the Model setting as “every tick,” the modeling quality in the report shows to be 99%. When I use the data from the MT4 History Center, with the Model setting as “Open Prices,” the modeling quality shows as N/A.