New Here! Excited

Hi there! It’s nice to be a part of a community of like-minded individuals. I am new to forex but I realized that this is what I want to pursue full-time as it is quite interesting to me. I have some prior knowledge of the forex market, but I will start from the beginning again and review everything I’ve learned previously as well as learning everything that I haven’t gotten to yet. I will use the MT5 platform on a demo account for a good amount of time to get used to the charts, and take trades as well as trying out strategies that work best for me. Once I feel ready to open a live account I’ll start with a small deposit of no more than $200 so that I can incorporate proper risk management. Wish me luck!

Welcome aboard. Your aim is to find a method that is consistently profitable, stick with it, and follow the same process for every trade.

However, as you wrote above, if you are chopping and changing strategies, you run the risk of not having one that works for you. Most successful traders only have one method that they stick to throughout.

As for going live, that’s a whole new ballgame as you will suffer emotional fear responses every time you open a trade. Get used to it. Being excited is a fast track to blowing your capital, therefore learn to be detached with a cool, calm, and collected mindset as though you are just an observer throughout.

Accept that once a trade is running there is little you can do except turn off your computer for an hour or so. Trade management is probably the toughest test you will find. Pro traders have learnt to close losing trades early, never add to losing positions, but add to winning positions instead. That takes constant emotional pain which they learn to accept as the norm.