New hick trader

There goes the neighborhood! :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m new to trading. I’ve always been interested in it because it gives me peace just watching the bars going up and down. I can sit and watch it forever. So my goal now is to escape out of my dream job (Systems/Network Admin at a fortune 100 company), to work on my dream business (become a pipper :smiley: ).

I traded for the first time in the month of Nov. last year. I lost half my ($300) seed money in my first week, then made it back and doubled up on it over the rest of the month. This is after I took one of the courses offered at FXCM, and so got my $500 class fee back too after making the required 10 trades the first week trading. Probably part of the reason I lost so much was that I was trying to get those required 10 trades in quickly (before a month was up after the course).

I took what I intended to be a short hiatus from trading to try to get some tests required for my job out of the way, because I’m still relying on this to pay the bills. I don’t do well with tests. I’ve had countless instructors tell me that I know the stuff, yet I can’t pass the tests. I just want to move on and get to pipping! :cool:

So now in April, I’m back to trading, and find myself down the first week again. I evaluated what I’m doing, and found that I am going totally willy-nilly and not doing any real planning. I got to looking at Kowabunga strategy and found it very interesting, along with something I read around here - the inside bar.