New Trader/Old Analyst

Hi all, new trader here (4-5 years) and old market analyst/strategist (25+ years)
i m from Egypt/Netherlands but worked in the dealing room in several countries, from Netherlands, to UAE, Egypt to Indonesia. Let me tell you, being a good analyst does not mean you are a good trader. Knowing what to do is very different from actually doing it. i started trading after i partly retired as an analyst. I m here to learn and also share whatever i know. Trading is a lonely business and i look forward to interact with ppl more. Happy trading everyone.

Amro

ps: i was on babypips in 2015 but then the site took a new design and i felt a bit lost. However, i m back and i have to say, this site is truly unique because of the ppl and the community. Glad to be back. Somewhere i have some old posts here from another account.

5 Likes

Very true! Welcome back :wink:

1 Like

Welcome back amro. Good insights.

(I was disappointed when the site changed format a few years back but its the members behind the screen, not how the screen looks, that makes babypips work.)

2 Likes

Welcome aboard again. I (hopefully) know exactly what your are experiencing as it happens to me. It’s not having a detached mind when emotional reactions occur. These you must accept as being normal.

How I deal with FEAR & PAIN is as follows:

Daily TF for trend, and 4hr for synch entry, having beamed down to the 15m for confirmation like three ducks in a row. Otherwise wait.

I place my TP below a S&R or S&D zone where losing traders close their position or get stopped out. I set my S/L accordingly, which in an upward trend is further below to cater for a small retracement event on the way to success. Then turn off the desktop and let it run to its conclusion, with an exit plan for the following morning…