Newb Here, just wanted to make an observation

Being a poker player is a great prerequisite to fx trading psychologically wise I’m theorizing. In poker, you have to manage your bankroll properly or you go broke, you have to learn to manage your emotions to the T or you go broke. That includes dealing with massive bad beats, tournament entries, your buy in if you play cash games, etc.

Being that I’ve been playing poker for ten years now, plus I’m not an emotional type of person (very logic-based, or that my emotions are filtered through my logic first) I think Forex may be a good fit for my personality type.

What do you guys think? I can’t wait to dig in, (gonna learn first of course before I start).

Hey Dreighen, being a poker player should serve you well, my son plays (does ok) and got the right mindset to trade forex when hes ready … patience and waiting for the right hand (signal) is all important IMO cheers and good trading Q

1 Like

Thanks, as I’m reading the forums here tonight (I should be sleeping lol) I see that a big part of it is the psychological aspect of detaching yourself from the money so when you take losses you don’t chase them and end up an even bigger loser. Another lesson I learned long ago in poker. This makes me pretty excited as I don’t have the hang ups most newbies may have coming into this.

It’s liberating to say the least, and I think once I start learning the fundamentals, coupled with the fact that I will have a pretty good chunk of capital at the end of this month (not that I plan on starting to trade then) I can’t wait to get going.

hehe …IF I was you I would put half that fair chunk away somewhere safe for a while … you will most likely need it 1 day , blown accounts are the norm to start off …Q

Oh most definitely, I’m not going to put all of my eggs into a forex basket :wink: