Newbie from ... Australasia :)

Hi all, I’m very new to trading. I’m currently starting on some forex analysis but now, having read here and there, I thought I may just want to do some of my own trading once I have enough knowledge, rather than just doing the quant work.

I’m a techie type, PhD in bioinformatics but the only trading insight I have is from friends who are in the game.

I live in Sydney but I’m Kiwi.

Hope to get to know some of you!

Cheers :blush::beers:

6 Likes

Welcome LJR.

I had to Wiki bioinformatics. I’m still not sure…

I hope all goes well for you. Just a word of caution - new traders with technical aptitude and training can sometimes over-rely on factors that appear to be constants, factors which either are black or are white, patterns which either mean this or they don’t. Just beware, there are no constants in trading, only probabilities.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Thanks, tommor! Haha. Bioinformatics is basically data science with DNA sequence and other bio data.

I hear your caution. I don’t plan on trading anything until I feel well-educated, which will take a while, and even then I’ll get someone experienced to ‘supervise’ :wink:

1 Like

Thanks, @dianajs

It seems there could be some crossover potential for analyzing market data. :face_with_monocle:

Welcome!

1 Like

Thank you @FOREX.com , I’m certainly hoping so!

1 Like

Woooow! :smiley: That sounds so cool. :slight_smile: Haha. Maybe you could use your techie self to create EAs etc in the future. :smiley: Oh. Have you tried visiting the school here? I think it’s pretty helpful.

I wish you all the best! And welcome to this amazing community!!! :blush:

Thanks @ria_rose :blush:
I hope to be up and EA writing someday soon. So much to do…
I had a little nosy and see you’re doing some demo trading? I’d love to hear about your experiences so far! Do you have a thread somewhere?