Newbie here

Finally a site that does not make claims about getting rich quick. I am new to forex but I do know that if somone promises you the moon run away fast. with that said I have been lurking for aboout a week. and going through baby pips school. this is a great site. right now I have a trading simulator that works on live trading.I found it at a site called my day trading toutor. so I can practice without losing any real money.my only question right now is what is the length of I should spend practicing before opening a real account?
Happy Trading all:)

Hi nytrader no need to ask where you are from.

This thread may help.

http://forums.babypips.com/newbie-island/53-how-long-did-you-study-up-before-you-traded.html

But the jury is out. It all depends on how you feel
about it, there are no real set time limits.

There are two schools of thought on this. One saying you should trade for real as soon as possible because there are psychological differences between demoing and trading your live money so you need to learn your lessons.

Other says wait until you are consistent with your trading system for at least 3 months before risking your money.

I believe both have valid points and I think you should go live as soon as you believe in your system but I defiantly don’t think you would have to wait for 3 months of consistency. Also, remember that consistency is not equal to profitability. I would define consistency as you correctly expected what happened.

So work on your methodology and with a decent sample size I think you can go live rather quickly. Just remember to take responsibility if things go south and realize it is you that caused those losses. Not your broker, not the spread, not anything but yourself. The sooner you can take responsibility for your results the sooner you will learn and become profitable!