Newbie/Intermediate trader

Hi everybody, I’m Noxolo from South Africa :south_africa:, I’m in my first year of trading, I won’t lie it has been a challenging one from gaining to losing money, I find myself want to give up sometimes but I have dreams and goals so I rather grow than give up. Hoping when time goes by things will make sense and it won’t come to a point where I find myself wanting to give up because my losses are dominating my profits.

What leverage is best when you are using a broker leveraging from 1:100 - 1:1000, any suggestions?

1 Like

Don’t beat yourself up mate, reading your post you have more awareness and insight then alot of new posts on here .Trading a gradual progression not a get rich scheme,winning and losing is all part of the game. Many successful traders have big losers but come back stronger and more determined to succeed.

I use spread betting platform UK ,I’m happy I don’t have to stress about leverage ratio s :smiley::smiley:

1 Like

I have no idea since I’m a pretty early noobie, but my guess is that you should go for the lightest leverage possible, cause you wouldn’t want to clear your progress in a small amout of time.
Play small, mitigate risks.
Perseverance will get you anywhere.

1 Like

Perseverance is key to eventual success - well done. Aim to do more of what works and less of what doesn’t. I suggest you find a regulated broker using 30:1 leverage which gives you space on a small account, and limits your risk exposure.

Having said that, I have traded a $65 account for four months using a 200:1 leverage, but that’s high risk if you are not at least a break-even trader. What that exercise taught me was to always follow my strategy process (Ichimoku), and maintaining rigid discipline, patience, and emotional control management.