Newbie's First Month: Surprising Success and Lessons Learned

Hey everyone,

I wanted to share my experience as a new trader over the past month. I started just 4 weeks ago with $6K, trading from my home office. It’s been quite a journey so far!

As a complete beginner, I’ve immersed myself in learning and trading. The School of Pipsology has been an incredible resource - a big thank you to all the teachers there.

My daily routine looks something like this:

1. I start by analyzing global news, economic calendars, and market trends for a couple of hours.
  2. Then I meet with my broker to discuss our findings and plan the day’s trades.
  3. We typically open about 5 trades a day. I monitor them closely and close them when I see a profit before end-of day, or they close themselves when hitting the set take-profit levels.
  4. During and after trading, I dedicate a few hours to studying and learning more about forex trading strategies, market analysis, and risk management.

So far, we’ve opened 104 trades. I’ve closed 101 with a profit, while 3 were closed at a loss after showing no profit for a week (mostly due to swaps). The current ROI stands at 108%.

I’ve been told this ROI is exceptional, and I’m aware that it’s likely due to a combination of favorable market conditions, having a competent broker, and possibly some beginner’s luck. We’ve also been allocating a significant portion of our trades to gold, which has been performing particularly well and has contributed substantially to our success. Despite this, I’m trying to stay grounded and am preparing myself for the inevitable ups and downs ahead.

I’m excited to learn from your experiences and engage with everyone here on the forums. Looking forward to some great discussions!

Cheers!

1 Like