Non US citizen but living in US

Hi, I am currently a college student in the US and looking for a broker that can offer me a good leverage. Unfortunately, brokers that accept US client allow only 50:1 maximum leverage. My question is, can I say I am from Malaysia which is where I was born and still trade at my school in the US?

Or is there any broker recommendation?

Thanks!

First of all if you are new to forex you do not want more leverage than 50:1 and most likely you will not even be using that much unless you plan to scalp at below 5min timeframes or have several trades on at once.

Personally I would recommend IB or FXCM depending on how much money you have to invest.

Let’s review the legal requirements, and how you might go about getting around them. Then, let’s talk about what makes sense for a beginning forex trader.

[B]First, the legal situation.[/B]

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) stipulates that U.S. brokers may not offer more than 50:1 leverage to their clients, regardless of the citizenship or the country of residence of those clients. In other words, if doesn’t matter whether you are a U.S. citizen, a Malaysian citizen, a U.S. resident, or a Malaysian resident — if you become a client of a U.S. forex broker, you will be subject to the CFTC’s regulations, including the 50:1 leverage limit.

Furthermore, the CFTC stipulates that U.S. residents (regardless of citizenship) may not become clients of the offshore branches of U.S. brokers. So, as a U.S. resident, you can open a trading account with FXCM in New York and get 50:1 leverage; but, you can’t open an account with FXCM in London and get 100:1.