% of profitable forex traders

So I’ve read about how 95% of traders are not profitable (5% are profitable) but when I was signing up with my broker, one of the disclosures showed the number of profitable traders for the last 3 years. This number was in the lower 30% range. So what is the deal with the gap between the 5% and 30% numbers?

30% for said broker vs 5% for all brokers prehaps. Some brokers may have better clients than others. A broker with mostly beginners will surly have a low win rate vs a broker with mostly pro traders.

Ok. That makes sense. I was also thinking that the people profitable one year does not mean they are profitable the next year. The 30% number is just a yearly number, so the actual traders that fit in this category probably changes yearly. But still, as a noob, I feel better about 30% than 5%.

Reality is there are only few broker in the market are actually making profit. Maximum number of the trader are losing money and most of them quit the market in between 3 to 6 months, that’s my research said. So 5% trader are actually successful thing is right. But the range of 30% successful trader I guess from the broker you have selected to trade. If you count the thousands of broker and their successful trader then I guess it will be 5%.

Majority of traders do the same thing. Those who work hard and tweak their methods to the point of success will find it hard to share that information after so much sacrifice, the price they paid to reach that state.

Sometimes having a system that is too complicated will make trading a hard task to carryout. Keeping things effective and simple is the best route. Create a plan and sticking to it, every system will experience moments of wins and losses.