Please help me to have your answer

Hi all.

I’m a very new member and I’m studying about FOREX in Babypips. I’ve reached to the lesson of Pre-School, it’s “How You Make Money Trading Forex”. It said that:
"…
USD/CHF
In this example the USD is the base currency and thus the �basis� for the buy/sell.

[B]If you think the Swiss franc is overvalued[/B], you would execute a BUY USD/CHF order. [B]By doing so you have bought US dollars in the expectation that they will appreciate[/B] versus the Swiss Franc.

If you believe that due to instability in Iraq and in U.S. financial markets the dollar will continue to weaken, you would execute a SELL USD/CHF order. By doing so you have sold US dollars in the expectation that they will depreciate against the Swiss franc.
…"

I think it should say that “…If you think the Swiss france [B]is not overvalued[/B],…you have bought US dollars…”

Please help me to have your answer. Thank you very much.

No. It’s right.

If you think CHF is overvalued, that means USD/CHF is too low. Remember that USD/CHF is the number of CHF per USD. If the CHF is overvalued, that would imply that the USD is not worth enough CHF and needs to appreciate relative to it. That means USD/CHF should rise.

I was very confused with this as well when I started. The best way to look at it is since the first pair is the base currency USD/CHF. If the pair goes up it means the USD Appreciates and the Swiss Franc depreciates compaired to each other. If the price goes down the the USD is depreciating and the Swiss Franc is appreciating compaired to each other.

Thanks for your explanation but I’m still confused.
As the lecture, "You would [B]buy the pair if you believe the base currency will appreciate[/B] (go up) relative to the quote currency. You would [B]sell the pair if you think the base currency will depreciate [/B](go down) relative to the quote currency. ". And I understood.

Now we can compare two cases in the lecture

First, "USD/JPY