Pre School Test!

Hi,

Im brand new to FOREX and have been using babypips SCHOOL to learn how it all works. I completed the pre-school basics test at the end of the section, but cant understand why I got one question (T/F) incorrect…It goes like this…

Q. There are 2 quotes when looking at the price of a currency pair. The bid is the price that you can buy the currency and the ask is the price you can sell the currency the difference between these two is called the spread

A. true or false (correct answer is false)

I’ve had a mental block (or just being dumb), but why is this false ? the second sentance is true right…so I guess Im not reading/understanding the first sentance.

be gentle, Im obviosuly missing something so simple its un true !!!

Before I answer your question you should know that this stumped me also until I racked my own brain over it, then went to someone who knows more than I do to get it right. So as a newbie, DON’T feel stupid for missing this one. Haha. Here is how we would rephrase the question to make it true:

There are 2 quotes when looking at the price of a currency pair. The bid is the price that is [I][B][U]OFFERED[/U][/B][/I] for you to buy the currency and the ask is the price you is [I][B][U]OFFERED[/U][/B][/I] for you to sell the currency the difference between these two is called the spread.

See? The Bid/Ask prices are not fixed prices. You can click on them and encounter slippage until the price is filled. They are only offers not necessarily where you will get filled.

This one is FAR too tricky for a beginners questionaire!

The funny thing is that there must have been countless other traders to take the quiz, and get it wrong, and never knew why but didn’t want to ask (Myself included). I APPLAUD YOU FOR DOING SO! Some people can never admit that they are wrong, and that will KILL you in forex!

Happy pipping!

thks