Premature Margin Call?

Hi folks,

Yet another Forex noob here. After spending a few weeks devouring the babypips school, I decided to take the next step and open up a demo account so I could start to get a feel for the market. I went with an FXCM standard (50K) demo account.

The first few trades (about 10 or so) all went in my favor, I made a couple of hundred dollars…so far so good. So like any self respecting newbie with some beginners luck, it was time to up the ante of course.

I went long on GBP/USD with 14 standard lots. My used margin went to $34,000. The pair started dropping, and my equity along with it of course.I was down to about $48,000 or so in equity. I did not have a stop loss in place, but was watching closely and prepared to ride this for a little while longer (and when the money isn’t real, it’s easier to do I’m sure :)… I was going to manually intervene if necessary, but I believed the pair was going to reverse.

What happened next was a total surprise. I received an “emergency” system message that I was getting margin called. The positions were liquidated, and the remaining margin returned. The account was down to around 48K. Still believing in the trade, I bought right back in with nearly the same position size, and rode it back to break even and then some.

My question is this…In reading through the babypips College Course: The number one cause of death for Forex traders…Margin call example…

“As long as your Equity is greater than your Used Margin, you will not have Margin Call.
( Equity > Used Margin ) = NO MARGIN CALL”

Given the parameters described above, it seemed to me that I received a premature margin call from the broker as used margin was significantly less than equity. However, I assume it’s more likely that either…

A) I don’t have a proper understanding of margin in general or…
B) I don’t understand how my specific broker (FXCM) sets their margin call parameters