Preschool question

Hey everyone!

I am new to trading and going through pre school. (Know When to Buy or Sell a Currency Pair).

Under one of examples it says: If you believe that the U.S. economy is strong and the euro will weaken against the U.S. dollar, you would execute a SELL EUR/USD order.

By doing so, you have sold euros in the expectation that they will fall versus the US dollar.

so lets say i sell eur, now i have usd, but when do i sell them? by selling usd i get my eur back, so where is the “profit”?
or is it like this: i sell my usd and make some pips, and the pips i made is the profit?

may sound like simple math for you, but i suck at maths

Hello, Farrukh,

Here are 3 posts from several years ago that address this question of “buying” and “selling” currencies. These 3 posts make similar points, but in slightly different ways, and with different examples. I hope they will clear up your confusion.

2 Likes

Thanks for the clarification.

I get that you dont really “buy” the currency, but since you cant buy does that mean you cant hold it either? ex: eur/usd, i go long and usd drops, and i lose money, but is it possible to “hold” it there and go short when market is going bullish/up again, or do i need to place another trade for that?

i would think you cant hold since you dont own any, compared to a stock share.

I think you got the real answer by Clint. Good going and good luck.

The example you included in your question contains several problems, which I will address separately.

Regarding your main question:

I will answer it this way.

When you “buy” the EUR/USD (using the term “buy” loosely), you do not acquire anything. Therefore, there is nothing to “hold” in an ownership sense.

Rather, you take a position, which amounts to entering into a “contract” with your broker. Your contract states that you will earn a profit if EUR/USD rises above your entry price, and you will suffer a loss if EUR/USD drops below your entry price.