Question about Brexit

Hi there,

Newbie here, and someone who has never done any Forex trading before, but I have a question regarding Brexit and the effect it will have on the pound.

I’m British but I’m living in Australia at the moment. I have £15,000 tied up in a UK savings account, and am assuming that should Brexit go ahead that there will be a sharp drop in the value of the pound, given what happened the day after the vote.

Would it be advisable, therefore, to transfer the savings I have in my UK account into my Australian one shortly before March 29th, before, once there has been a sharp drop in the pound, transferring it back into my UK account?

Any advice is welcome here…

What happens - short-term - to the GBP probably depends on the perception of the quality of the deal. If it looks like good basis for future trade, the price might not move much. Key will be ease of trade movement across borders and ease of travel. Major disruptions or delays at airports / ports / Channel Tunnel will sink the GBP.

But after a few weeks, who knows, maybe back to today’s price?

If the exit is delayed, expect a fall as uncertainty will then continue, plus a greater possibility of a change of PM before the revised exit date.

Thanks for answering.

In the case of major disruptions, would it be likely that the pound would sink before the UK actually leaves (if it becomes apparent that is what will happen), or only after March 29th?

It’ll react as soon as we know what’s happening, so if a disruptive deal or a delay is confirmed today, literally in the next hour, it could happen this morning.

Its always possible a positive deal will make the GBP rise…

1 Like