Question about opening live account

Hello everyone, first off I just want to say how awesome BabyPips is and what a great community you guys have here. I’ve been reading the forums for a while but this is my first time posting.

I’ve been successfully trading demo for about a week now and think I am ready to open a live account to at least gain some more experience and take it to the next level. In the BabyPips school it states that the number one reason why new Forex traders fail is because they fail to open an account with enough funds to allow for enough margin and leverage.

I’m considering opening a mini account with GFT Forex with $1000 and they offer a 400:1 leverage. My question is, is this a smart move or am I jumping the gun and need to wait and open an account with more funds?

In my opinion you are jumping the gun. One week of demo is not even enough time to learn how your platform works, let alone figure out a system or even learn the indicators. When you try a new system it always seems to have a winning streak off at first then the true system comes into play. Also if you only have $1000 then open a micro account. Don’t risk too much.

One week of successful demo trading means nothing. However, I do think you learn the fastest, take it more serious, and remember your lessons when real money is on the table.

$1000 is plenty to start with in general, but that brokers minimum lot size is 10k.

Depending on your strategy, you probably won’t be able to handle a string of losses/large drawdown trading a 10k lot. You probably won’t be able to set reasonable stops either, again depending on your strategy.

I’d look into Oanda or FXsol to start with after you demo their platform to learn it. Consider starting with a smaller amount of money as well, $250 or less is reasonable.

Check out FXSOL as well… You can select your leverage amount from 50:1 to 400:1 and lot sizes from 1000 to 100000