Question about spread widening

Hi,

I started trading with a small live account a few weeks ago after demoing a lot. I opened an account with an STP (straight through processing broker) which offers low spreads on most forex pairs.

But during off market hours and before market closes at friday the spreads increase a lot. Normally it is not a problem if EURUSD jumps from 1 pip to 5-7 pips for a few hours or if minors temporarily have a spread of 10-12 pips. But sometimes the spread widening during these hours is extreme: today i was in a trade on GBPCHF and before the market closed, there was a spread of 24!! pips which stopped me out. I checked other brokers and price feeds and price never traded near this level my broker had.

My quesion is: How can I avoid being stopped out during these hours when the spread tends to widen? Of course I don’t open positions during these times but as a swing trader I often keep trades open a few days so I have to manage them correctly. Would it help to move my stop loss accordingly to the spread widening of the broker and after spread returns to normal place it again where it originally was?

Apart from this I am very satisfied with my broker.

What would you reccomend?

Thanks for your help

You should reach out and discuss this issue of slippage with your broker(s).

Generally speaking, if you want to eliminate the risk of slippage and being stopped out, then the only solution is to NOT enter a stop loss in your broker’s platform that will automatically close your trade and instead, use a “mental stop”. Of course, there are drawbacks to this approach as well.

2 Likes

What is Slippage?

When orders are sent out to be filled by a liquidity provider or bank, they are filled at the best available price whether the fill price is above or below the price requested.