Rate my trade setup

Hi, guys; I’m completely new to this market and taking my first baby steps. Like everyone else, I’m struggling to find the best strategy (and yes, I know there is no one-fits-all solution). For now, I haven’t been very successful.
My trade setup right now involves support and resistance level, parabolic SARS and RSI.
I enter a long trade, for instance, when the price hits the support level, parabolic SARS is below the candle, and RSi is above 50 (indicating an uptrend),
Am I doing something wrong, or I just need to refine this strategy? Any ideas on how I can improve this?
Give me your thoughts, please.

It looks like you’re gauging whether price is rising or falling using 4 different methods at the same time - price chart, SARS, s/r and RSI.

Surely price alone would do, or price plus an MA? Or price plus RSI only?

If you use 4 methods to all give the same conclusion, you might be tempted to think that this is a really strong analysis, compared to a chart situation where say only 2 of these criteria are in alignment.

3 Likes

Tks, Tommor, for your input.
I have tried using just support and resistance, with little success, tbh.
Then I added the SARS, which also didn’t work. That’s when I went to s/r + RSI. Now I have the 4 of them and, guess what… still failing, like in the example below.

SARS and RSI are both picturing the same thing but in different ways. At least they are based purely on price with no human input from the trader. But using both at once seems like a road towards confusion not clarity.

Whereas s/r levels are entirely subjective, derived from the mind of the trader. Traders will always disagree if they have to systematise how they draw s/r - how far do to look back? what time-frame? how many “touches”? how many time-frames? bodies or wicks?
If we were in court these would be counted more as opinion, not evidence.

4 Likes