Risk Management

Hi I am new to Forex and reading voraciously about it for past 2 months. I have started a demo account and will usually use the daily chart for entries and exit.

I was planning to go live with a $1000 account. If I can tolerate 2 % risk that would be $20 risk per trade. According to risk calculators, if my SL in pips is 100 pips per trade ( for EUR/USD), I can only take 0.02 lot size per trade. That sounds pretty small but I guess it will test my patience.

So no matter what my leverage, I CANNOT take a position of more than 0.02 lot size. I can take another position only after my first position becomes break even and I have maually moved my SL to breakeven position.

With high leverage, I can take a lot of positions, but I should not risk more than 2% capital of my COMBINED positions.

So leverage is not a bad thing at all as long as we can manage our risks properly

Does it make sense?

In forex it is important to be aware of risk and that it is inherent in every take you take and ensure you are willing to take those risk. And in order to manage risk the use of stop and limit orders is quite essential and also in line with a good discipline approach and good trading habit.

Read this:

Understand that your first time trading live money, will more than likely lead to a blown account. I’ve never interacted w/ anyone who “got it right” the first time around.

Just be sure that $1,000 is a comfortable amount for you to donate to the market gods.

Leverage and small trading capital do not go hand in hand.
IMO, you’d ideally never want to lever up more than 3:1 (5:1 MAX).
That’s how you manage risk properly.

I agree with you. Manage your risk properly and you will never lose more than what you have set regardless of leverage. Higher leverage will affect your SL levels so make sure you account for that properly.