Scam Detection - Help!

Hi all,

This is my first post, and apologies for just barging in, but I’m not sure where else to turn to for some assistance. I will leave out or mask specific details for now, but I need help in confirming whether something is a scam.

I am a complete FX noob, and whatever jargon I have stated below is due to research rather than knowledge, which means I could use these terms in the wrong way.

Someone close to me (let’s call him Adam) has bought into a managed FX scheme. How it works is that he paid US30k to a company operating in a major European capital but registered in an offshore tax haven (you know, one of those tiny islands who sell bank accounts and passports). This company then provides Adam with MT4 login details so he can monitor the trades. Adam has the necessary account permissions to execute/manage trades, but is advised not to and to just “leave it to the pros”.

The account started with the $30k deposit and had an initial credit line of $1m (ostensibly coming from some European bank and arranged by the scheme), with the broker offering 1:200 leverage. Over the last few months, the line of credit has grown to a whopping $15m.

The trading goes well, with the firm seemingly making consistently profitable trades using a combination of FX and CFDs. There is no reason to suspect the trades themselves are bad - Adam has watched them being executed in real time, and they follow broader market movements, so the managers seem to know more or less what they’re doing. The FX trades are reasonably-sized (relative to available margin), but the derivate trades can be absolutely enourmous (position sizes can be over >$100m). This is all on his account alone.

His MT4 software reports that his account size has grown from $30k to over $3m in a just a few months, along with the full trade history as to how that happened, and all the numbers stack up.