Self taught or a mentor?

Do you prefer to be self taught or have a website you go to or a mentor?

2 Likes

It’s great to explore different ways of achieving success! Whether you prefer to learn on your own or with a mentor, both approaches can be helpful. The choice between the two really depends on what works best for you and your unique learning style, goals, and resources.
Personally, I prefer to be autonomous.

2 Likes

Great. I am self taught but given another chance, I wish I had someone to guide me.

1 Like

Well, you don’t have to be just this or that. You can get advice from a mentor or maybe people here in order to learn, gain experience so to be more autonomous.

2 Likes

Being mentored

2 Likes

Good. If you get the right mentor, or the needed knowledge, then you will be set.

2 Likes

I am firmly in the autodidact camp. However, the problem with learning a new skill without some form of guidance, especially one as complex as trading, is that you simply don’t know where your efforts are best focused. You don’t know what you need to learn and you don’t know where to start.

That doesn’t necessarily mean that the mentor route is the best option either.

The problem with choosing a mentor is that, in the beginning, you just don’t know enough about trading to judge how good the mentor really is. There are a lot of bad mentors out there who may sound smart and well-informed but who really haven’t got a clue. Get involved with one of these dubious educators and it can add years to your learning curve or even kibosh your trading career altogether.

Ultimately, I would say you have to go with whatever feels right for you.

5 Likes

Correct…

5 Likes

Hmm. :thinking: Although having a mentor would be nice, it’s usually to expensive for me. :sweat_smile: Being self taught is less costly and you can learn at your own pace. :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

I agree. I am self taught as well but I wish I had some one who could guide me when I was starting up.

2 Likes