Self Teaching vs Coaching

I was wondering if some the traders of whom are now trading live and are profitable could comment on if they were self taught through reading and youtube or if they had actual coaching. Or maybe a bit of both.

If all apprentice mechanics were handed a dozen books and a car to practice on rather than actual coaching, would as many qualify with their NVQ?

Are there trading courses that are taught like you would do an excel course in college?

Thanks

Bit of both , to learn simply off youtube would be very hard. You can get the basics and a understanding but there will come a point you need a teacher. Just like driving a car easy to know gears , steering etc but could you drive just from a book no and even once instructed still need extra lessons as the real world is far different from the text book.

I have being trading a long time and still chat with a mentor (although more mates guidance than lessons) as does he to me now as we all have wobbles from time to time. Look at Tiger Woods greatest golfer there is and still has a coach , trading no different

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.
Thats pretty much what I thought.
Your videos have been really helpfull and have given alot of inspiration.
But even with your knowledge and experience you still like to have the backup of a mentor now and again.
Could I ask how your mentor was involved when you began trading? Did he sit with you at your computer, maybe point out if you did something wrong, suggest you change this or that?

I just wonder if the many hundreds of learners including myself with have the opportunity of a mentor when the time comes. And will many give up after months of self teaching because they may never be coached from a mentor.

When I started I had a ex bank manger work for me who taught me 1 to 1 showing me what to look at and how to read the charts.

1 Like