Should I "upgrade" from mql4 to python?

hi guys,

i’m currently using mql4 and i’m thinking about “upgrading”. I’m not a programmer (i only used mql4 so far) so i’m thinking about python since it seems to be on a simpler level compared to other mainstream languages.

what’s your opinion/view about shifting to python? is it worth? any benefits over mql4? mql4 does the job but it’s limited to mostly forex and a couple of cfd’s.
I looked quickly into mql5 coding and…not sure if its a better idea over python.

tnks
L

1 Like

Hi, what goal do you want to achieve by switching to another coding language? Regards Greg

1 Like

mostly to have a wider choice of instruments. stocks for example…

also maybe it will be “easier” to code certain things in python? by easier i mean the structure/approach wmight be different, which may or may not feel easier

1 Like

Ok, you will create strategies in Python, where you want to install these strategies and trade?

2 Likes

what do you mean? i don’t know how python works but I presume you do that through APIs no?

i’m just curious/asking if its worth taking the leap towards it. I can’t really compare myself since I have only used mql4 so I don’t know what other languages have to offer. And as I said i’ve chosen python cause it seems to be rated/reviewed as one of the simpler options out there.

1 Like

Meta 4 and 5 have own language to creating expert advisors mql4 and 5. By api’s ( working with MT5 ) and FIX API which is used to directly connect, faster connect to broker servers. By integrations between Python and MT5 you can get something like manager panel for MT5. Check full documentation from mql5. Regards Greg

2 Likes

thanks will look into that