Should you push through periods of no motivation?

I have been learning forex for 4 months at this point and for the whole 4 months I have had a burning passion towards forex. Learning it was my hobby and I found it fun and it wasn’t like doing work at all it was just doing something I liked.

The past week my motivation has been whittled down to nothing and learning it is a chore. I think it’s due to the amount of quotes I read that say “The only way to make it is if you actually enjoy and have a passion for trading”. I think my subconscious took note of this and over time I have created a war in my head where my subconscious is constantly telling me “do you really have the motivation and passion it takes to be a forex trader? Is forex trading really for you?”

My question is should I push myself through this and should I just drag myself through this time of no motivation? And has anyone been through this and come out the other side, I feel this is character building and if I push myself through it I will be a better more resilient person and trader. In other words: is it just one of the many big obstacles in the way of success?

3 Likes

You will get your answer once you start learning more. Without knowing anything properly, it’s not possible to get convinced whether it’s for me or not. Keep pushing yourself and see what happens.

4 Likes

I had periods where I wanted to give up. No motivation, but most days I was excited to turn on my computer. Don’t let one little period of Demotivation stop you. But that is a good question to ask yourself. “Is forex trading for me?”. And be honest with yourself. Just like if I asked myself “is trying to be a doctor worth it?” I’d probably say no, as I have zero interest in being a doctor.

If forex was easy, everyone would do it.

8 Likes