Simple System: Need help managing trade

Hi,

I have been trading forex for a couple of years on and off, unsuccessfully, mostly due to issues of money management and discipline, which I haven’t developed much of.

I have learned a lot about technical analysis, including Elliott Wave analysis. Recently, I started using a simpler approach. My system is not mechanical. Last night, I got into a trade based on the “guidelines”, and now I am looking for ideas on managing the trade. Lots of systems help you get in, not a lot are good at trade management, in my view.

Here is why I got into this trade:

1. Elliott Wave pattern set up for possible reversal (3-wave move)
  2. Deep pullback (this case 0.50, usually prefer between 0.618/0.764)
  3. Price on 1 hr chart crossed over 20-period MA
  4. Stop to recent S/R within reason for at least 2 mini lots (< 6% of available margin)

I also look for divergence (normal and hidden), although divergence can sometimes get “run over” for a while.

Anyway, the trade I am in now was opened at 03:20 EDT on 5/10. I shorted GBP/USD at 1.9939, with an initial stop of 1.9969 (30 pips), 2 mini lots, for a total of $60 risk on margin of $1110.02, for a total of 5.4% of margin at risk.

This morning, I woke up with the trade just over 100 pips into profit. Now the trade is hovering around 150 pips in profit. My floating gain is ~$300, or about 27% of margin. I’ve moved my stop to 1.9914, in profit, but well back in order to let the trade breathe. I have attached my chart format (eSignal) where I keep the Day, 240, 60, and 15 visible; and also my FXCM broker station (sans account and ticket numbers).

I have the same problem most of us do: I tend to get out too soon. Over time, that means that my amount of win/loss average is not very good, even though I have winning trades about 50% of the time.