Stop Loss used for 1H / 4H time frame

Hi All, I’m a newbie and going through the school of pipsology, and demo trading as I learn and read. I look at the 4H and 1H time frames but having a hard time to set a stop loss based on the 4H and 1H ATR or volatility in the market milk tool.

For example I’m going long at the lower channel (bullish trend) for CAD/USD. The following are the ATR: 1D - 47 pips, 4H - 21 pips, 1H - 10 pips. I fee like the 4H and 1H pips are to narrow and will definitely get stopped. By using 1D ATR, I’m limiting my risk to reward ratio to 1.5:1 or 1.8:1, maybe 2:1 and not the recommended 3:1. I set losses below key support level into consideration when setting my losses.

A FX pair at support or resistance can move 1D worth of pips even though looking at 1H or 4H. How do experienced traders set stop losses for 1H /4H time frames?

Thanks

To set a stop loss you have to consider support and resistance level. You can not put stop loss by specific pips. Stop loss should be below support and above resistance level. You also need to consider spike.

2 Likes

I like your approach to this. Maybe even a modest r:r of 1:1.5 is too ambitious on this time-frame.

But what in more detail is going wrong?

Hi, from my expierience there is deppend on builded strategy, sometimes is better to using ATR as stop loss level sometimes constans value in pips or value one indicator or indicators, backtesting will show you which method is better. Regards Greg

Nothing has gone wrong with using Daily. Is the daily ATR to wide for 4h or 1h? from my understanding if you are trading daily time frame then your ATR should be based on daily and so forth.

I think looking at charts in 3 or more time-frames can be confusing if you’re not absolutely clear why you’re looking at them.

But I agree, if you’re trading a specific time-frame, the ATR you set your SL by should be the ATR from that time-frame.

1 Like

Can you assist with reviewing my trade or providing feedback