Support and Resistance

Hello everybody Im new at trading, Im starting with drawing support and resistance and knowing how to spot them well, but I dont know when the price will break o reverse at that support or resistance zone, i’m struggling at this time, for example if the price comes to a support or a resistance how to know if the price will break o reverse at that zone ?

Please I need help

2 Likes

Hey Montana. There isn’t a way to really tell if support/resistance is going to hold or if price action will break through. Once you identify where support and resistance is, then you watch that area as a POTENTIAL entry point. As price action approaches a support or resistance area, that’s when you should start paying attention for an entry. Price will typically either bounce or break through. Trying to preempt the market would be gambling, unless you have a strategy that you’ve tested to consistently work. Maybe you can use a leading indicator, one that gives you a signal before the movement. Just know that leading indicators can give you whipsaws, so testing and risk management is important. Long winded, and I’m not sure if I answered your question but I hope it helps. BLUF: S/R areas clue you in on a potential entry; it’s probably better to decide what to WHEN the bounce or breakout occurs instead of trying to predict it.

4 Likes

Its inevitable that 5 different traders will find 50 different support and resistance levels on the same chart. But that’s alright. Indicators don’t literally predict what the market will do, but they are a useful framework to tell you what you should do.

Its OK to not be able to predict the weather, as long as you can predict what you will do if it rains.

5 Likes