Support & Resistance - hedging positions

Hello everyone,

I’m new to forex as well as the pip community and had a couple of questions with regards to support, resistance and hedging positions.

1. I’ve read that in Forex only certain exchanges allow you to do this, open both a BUY and SELL position. I’m currently practicing on a demo account on Forex that doesn’t allow hedging, was curious which exchanges (if any) do?

2. When the charts are approaching areas of support or resistance, do traders assume there will be X amount of approaches before a breakthrough occurs? I’m interested to hear other peoples experiences regarding this

3. when taking support and resistance into account, how many pips either above or below an area of support or resistance would you put an order if you’re objective is to hedge your current position.

example:

Enter a long-position with USD/CNH @ 6.45123
Support is at 6.45000
I want to put a short order just below resistance incase things don’t go as planned

Welcome fextrader123.

Let me try and help you here…

1. This all depends on if your country allows hedging. I would do a quick Google search on that first, or ask your broker. I’m from Canada where hedging is permitted, however, it is not in the USA.

2. There’s no sure way to know if a support or resistance level will hold or not regardless of how many times it’s tested. SR levels are subjective too, people see them in different places and depending on the time frame. Some people use the wicks, some don’t.

3. Instead of thinking in terms of pips, consider looking at the bars. If price bounces off S, a good strategy is to wait for that green bar to close then put your buy order just above it, then your sell order (hedge or SL) somewhere below the most recent low (or lows in this case).