Support&Resistance when breaking below 4month low

Hello all,

I have been trading for about 9 months now, one month live, so please excuse my noob question! One of the most important tools I use for entering trades is support and resistance. By default it is a tool based on the past but for how long in the past?

For example, EUR/USD broke down below the 1,2625 level today, which was the 4 month low. So, it trades in an area where it traded back in 2010. Is it valid to suppose the market will “remember” the levels it traded back then? Can a resistance level of 2010 become a support in 2012?

Can a resistance level of 2010 become a support in 2012? no. The price has moved on.

The closer the S/R level to the price the more relevant it is.

My research suggests the market will certainly bounce off & honour area’s & levels that have previously acted as support & resistance going back that far, as evidenced by two more charts to compliment your EUR/USD example.

The market will probably have been pricing in & reacting to different fundamental stories back in 2010, but apparently traders are creatures of habit & those who pay close attention to technical details such as S&R will always be on the look out for common area’s of previous conflict to see how price action relates to those area’s in relation to the current fundamental themes.

Thank you both for your answers, two opposing suggestions, both sound logical in their way. I feel lost now that price trades in this new area, any more opinions please on the matter?

Why would you be lost?
That level back from 2010 confirmed its validity last Friday at the first touch by finding bids. The bids quite obviously weren’t as heavy yesterday as they were last Friday because on the second visit price pushed through with minimal effort. That in essence is what support & resistance trading is all about.