Tax Question-Business?

Hello all!
I am new to FOREX and have been using a demo account for about 6 months now. I have been planning on going live at some point and have been trying to figure out the tax situation, I live in the US. I know I would have Capital Gains to pay for any gains. My question is can I start a “business” for my trading only. I would get a tax ID number for federal and state and use a program like QuickBooks to pay myself a salary and pay quarterly taxes as any business would. Is this possible and is this a better plan than just outright paying CGT? Any help would be great!

Thank you!

ok…
i’m in australia, so , not qualified to comment on the tax system in the US

but i see similarites here
in australia we have GST Goods and Services Tax which charges 10%

now we have standard INCOME TAX which is a tax based on how much you earn

mate, with all these questions
I HAVE ONLY 1 QUESTION

Why in god’s name are you asking the forum on babypips about tax advice ?

why don’t you just go and make an appt. with an accountant for a free 1 hour consult and ask a professional to advise you on the tax situation in america

i mean as a general rule, i can tell you this

1. you don’t need to start a business and have a business name for forex… unless of course you
    are planning to start a firm that trades for others , in which ccase you’ll need a financial license

2. What are you going to do in this business that you propose to start

3. if you are looking to avoid tax, USUALLLY it’s illegal, EXCEPT when you do it legally,
    again… you need advice from a professional

so why are you asking us ?

Hi and welcome.
I can’t help personally, not being US based, but hopefully an experienced US member will answer you.
You’re thinking right, find out the tax implications before you (hopefully) make money, rather than get hit with a big tax bill later.
Good luck