Technical vs Fundamental vs Sentiment

Hi everyone! As some of you might know, I’m a newbie trader trying out the 3 Ducks System. I’ve had very little success in that I can’t find a lot of valid trades. Though I must admit it has only been a couple of months and I’m only trading EUR/USD.

My friends who have been trading for years told me that pure technical analysis and focusing on a system doesn’t really work. They said that I should focus on Fundamental and Sentiment Analysis. I’m starting out with the first book they told me to read but I feel like having to go through everything everyday will be too time consuming. But they said that when I get used to knowing what to look for it will be easy for me.

Is this true? Not that I don’t trust them (haha) but of course I’m hoping for an easier way. I’ve finished the school and I’m just starting to familiarize myself with TA through demo trading. I know it’s discussed in the school that it should be a combination of the three. But what my friends are saying is that it should be Fundamental and Sentiment and then just use Technical for knowing the entry, exit, invalidation points, etc.

6 Likes

In principle, I would agree that fundamental issues and sentiment are very relevant to trading - but in practice how does one personally really evaluate these? You can obtain regular data updates on selected economic issues, for example, but is a retail trader really in any better position to interpret these than the ranks of highly-paid analysts in the professional sector that don’t always get it right either?

In my opinion, the problem is (are!) quantifying these issues bearing in mind that:

• currency pairs are two sets of fundamental issues, working either with or against each other - which one happens to be the current flavour of the month?

• date releases often come with corrections to the previous months, which is really lagging info!

• how much of actual data is already priced into the market?