The confessions of a trader.. My Rise and Fall

My Rise and Fall… And Rise again

Hi all,

I thought I’ll share my story with traders young and old, newbies and pros. I’ve been trading just over 4 years. I used to come to this site and it helped me a lot, I used to test myself on the knowledge and see how I did. Since then I read many books, went on seminar and read countless websites and forums.

I learned about fundamentals, I learned about technical analysis, market sentiments, equities, stocks and shares… I learned the market or so it seemed…
After about 6-7 months I started trading with demo money and was successful.

I didn’t trade demo money for long because I thought why waste time when I can do this? I had most of the knowledge I needed, I was following market commentaries and keeping up with news. So I started with real money.

I was in a 5 yr relationship at the time, had a good life and supportive friends and family.
I thought I had it all, I thought I will make a killing trading so I started with a few hundred pounds. I made good trades and increased my investment 3-4 times but in the end I ended up giving it all back to the market. And more. and more. and more.

I continued like this for the next few months. Each time I’d put just few hundred more into the account. And each time I’d lose it again in the same way. I’d always made profits but I just couldn’t keep them. I refused to give up, to surrender, to let the ‘market win’…

The nature of the markets made it easy not to have to confront anything. Because the next trade always had the possibility of being the one, saving me making me whole again. And those losing trades I kept ignoring and hoping they will come back up? Well you know they do right, they do come back up? Yes, sometimes…
But usually it’s too late, when you leave the trade unmanaged you have failed. I left many like that, hoping and wishing they will be my friends again, wishing they would come to me and love me again…