The FXCM Grinder

Forum after forum, thread after thread, I see different views on FXCM.

Are they really that bad? If so, why are they one of the biggest forex brokers out there.

Its almost like Amway going on here. A bunch of bad over exaggerated, under informed rumors are trying to destroy a profitable business.

I’ve noticed that thier spreads get up to 5-6 pip range, even 9 sometimes, but i’ve also seen them as low as 1, I’ve even seen .5.

They offer free webinars for beginners. You get a free 8 hour course when you open a live account. They have online customer service when through all of the trading hours. All of these things I’ve personally used and have found little or no complaints with.

Yes, im new to forex, but im not new to seeing people badmouthing something they don’t know entirely.

So with that being said, here are a couple questions to answer:

Have you used FXCM? If so, please tell me how your experience was and how long it endured. Also, if you stopped using FXCM who did you switch to and why.

What are some of the good and bad things you have heard about FXCM?

Your complete and honest input would be greatly appreciated!

-X

I just posted this in another thread:

I just cancelled my account with FXCM and have opened one with EFX Group.

I thought that brokers would want customers to succeed so they will trade more & larger lots & they make money from the spreads. However my impression so far has been they have little interest in a customers long term success. I’m not referring to losing trades which are a cost of doing business, but other incidents that drained money from the account while customer service remained indifferent.

I am going to try a straight commission broker, and MB Trading (they now own EFX Group) is one I already know. I had an equities account with them a few years ago and had no complaints … customer service very friendly & efficient and no problems in the account itself.