The Joy of Finding My Inner Trader

Hello all. I’m new to the world of Forex. In all my reading I kept seeing the advice to find what type of trader you are. So I decided to run a no rules experiment to see who I was and where the flaws were. Boy was it a (short) journey. I hope this post will provide some chuckles to the veterans and insight to the newbies.

I started by searching for the highest margin broker I could find to take a US customer that didn’t seem like they were running out of their basement. This was done to see if I could manage the account funds “properly” with the lure of big leverage. This did not work for more than a day or two of trading.

I thought I would enjoy pouring over the chart data and news and then setting up trades to last days, weeks, etc. Although this was fun it quickly got in the way of the rush I enjoyed from fast (5min - 2hrs) trades. Scalping was not appealing to me. The individual profits/losses were too small in size.

I also had a hard time stepping away. When I got myself on the wrong side of a breakout I obsessed. I struggled with applying stop losses. After little sleep over 4 days my decision making went down the toilet. I became delirious and started making moves and reversing positions just because I could convince myself of anything.

The whole thing reminded me of that guy at the roulette table at 3am who’s a little drunk and is blowing through a fat stack he amassed earlier.

I learned a lot about myself when I let go with no rules. I quickly let greed and delirium take over.

It is very easy to lose everything if you don’t keep tigh stops.

It is very hard to have total control on our own emotions.

Best luck.

Thank you Trasimaco. I agree completely.

I wanted to see where and what type of trading would be my down fall so I can apply rules that would not allow me to become my own worst enemy.