This Week's Question: What Skills Do You Have Now That Will Let You Survive the Apocalypse?

This week’s topic isn’t too much about trading-related. It is though, about what other skills you currently possess outside of being on your computer looking at charts and entering trades… that is if you have any.

If the apocalypse is set to happen tomorrow, what skills do you CURRENTLY possess that will allow you to survive? (Also completely okay to say you will not survive it. Ha. I for one, will probably be the first to admit this!)

What about you? Perhaps you’re a car mechanic, maybe you have farm animals, or maybe really good with navigation (without Google Maps, please!)? What skill can you bring to the apocalypse team?

2 Likes

I am an engineer and like to “fix stuff” or repurpose it. I spend a lot of time contemplating what preparation we should make for if and when it hits the fan. I’d like to think that we are more prepared than most to live through the apocalypse. There is stuff that you can prepare for and there is stuff that it is futile to prepare for. The trick is to know what you can influence and what you can’t. So I have no plans to live through a meteor strike that wipes out all humans. The only one I know with those plans is Elon Musk.

But if apocalypse means supply chain interruption, temporary loss of civil control (police, army, etc) then we are as prepared as the next guy.

2 Likes

Love the question :slight_smile:
I would probably not survive a real Apocalypse, but for a lesser tragedy, I have some skills from teenhood. I always loved the mountains, forest and learning things. Thus, I have very basic knowledge on edible mushrooms and herbs, can light a fire in the forest or purify water to drink, navigate well with a map and somewhat get general direction without it, have had first aid trainings and maybe even remember some of it :slight_smile: With knife (or preferably a hatchet) I can build simple hut or other simple shelter from the rain.