Throwing risk v reward under the bus?

Hi all,

Even though I’m a grid trader by nature I read a lot of non-grid posts and was recently curious about support and resistance… So, I’ve set about experimenting with this strategy that is completely alien to me and have had to do some research on it.

My query is this…

I noticed during my search that a lot of advisers here are suggesting a fixed risk/reward ratio but surely this doesn’t work because if I’m using a support and resistance strategy then the tp/sl is determined by those levels… Anything else must just be a arbitrary number.

My testing is here if interested… www.mql5.com/en/signals/1028803

Obviously don’t copy the signal, it’s a test.

My risk/reward is based on my thoughts on where the support and resistance actually is.

I welcome your feedback.

2 Likes

Agreed. You can’t force a decent RR, you take what you can get from the market. Or to put it another way, you take what the market gives you.

If you insist on a RR of 1:3 for all your trades then you need to have the patience to wait for those setups. Otherwise, you can go for 1:1 or 1:2, keeping in mind you need a higher win percentage to survive with 1:1.

S/R can be very subjective because there can be so many different levels, and it also depends on the time frame you’re looking at, and whether or not you use the wicks (I do for the most part, simply because price has been there).

Here’s an example of a trade based on SR levels on the 2H chart, where if it goes my way I would see a R:R of 1:3:

Here’s one that if triggered would give me a RR of 1:1.26:

I’m not in this one, it’s just an example as I don’t feel strong enough about this trade.

4 Likes

Never used risk reward as a criteria in my trading ever.

When I get a signal I take it - sometimes they work sometimes they don’t.

I do however have a fairly robust exit strategy that helps me capture the meat of short term moves, and allows me to bail if the trade is wrong.